I was listening to a great podcast on social media this week, and one of the things she talked about was if you are going to go on vacation and step away from your social media/marketing, don’t announce it.

I respectfully disagree.

The world is a complex and connected place.  It demands a lot of us, and one of the demands is a 24/7 presence in the world.  Which you sometimes need to step away from.  And it needs to be okay to admit that.

I’m headed out with my family on vacation.  To a lakeside cabin with 2 typewriters and a whole lot of people I don’t get to see that often.  So I am going to try to stay off my phone.  We are bringing a camera.  Remember those?  The purpose of the camera is to get to document the events without having to remove my phone from my pocket.

I’ll still be writing (what do you think the typewriters are for?), and according to my scheduling software, episode 7 of the podcast and several blog posts will happen while I am gone.  Facebook and Twitter may languish a bit, but I kind of think that Facebook and Twitter can live without me.

Unplugging is an imperative for anyone, but for artists, including writers, I think it is even more important.  The world is a noisy place.  How else do you get all that out of your head?

Exciting things are ahead for No Extra Words, and I look forward to them.  I will see you all in August.  in the meantime, watch this space because episode 7, another challenge to the listeners, and more is coming.

Where do you go to get away from it all?  What do you say to the people who demand more and more of your time?

Wishing you peace,

Kris

