“[Fall] makes me wanna buy school supplies. I would send you a bouquet of freshly sharpened pencils if I knew your name and address.” –Tom Hanks in You’ve Got Mail

One of the great things about not working in schools anymore is that I get to reclaim my excitement about this time of year. Not that teachers don’t get excited about fall…they do. But there’s something about getting to run through falling leaves and enjoying sweaters and boots and leggings and scarves and making chili and cornbread without it meaning that I have to decorate bulletin boards.

Of course, the weatherman here in Seattle is predicting a hot September, so I shouldn’t get too excited yet.

We’ve had a lovely summer here at No Extra Words. We began June by releasing our 50th episode and then spent the summer on a reduced production schedule, but I am still proud of the awesome episodes we put out. I upped the amount of writing I did on this blog, including doing a summer series of Mini-Blogs to answer the questions I get most. I got to vacation with my family, do some writing, and take some writing risks, as well as spend some time planning for the future. I feel like I am starting September refreshed and ready to take this podcast project in new directions. I wanted to take this opportunity to tell you what is ahead for No Extra Words.

  • Beginning September 6, we are back to a weekly production schedule, with new episodes arriving every Tuesday. We have a full production calendar through the end of October but are still reading submissions for end of the year slots in November and December.
  • We are currently looking for podcasters to participate in a special storytelling episode of No Extra Words due to be released in November, so keep your eyes open for that.
  • A Christmas Serial is coming back to No Extra Words this holiday season alongside some brand-new content.
  • We are looking to repeat Contributor Appreciation Month and our celebration of National Poetry Month and also hope to present to you a Young Author’s Month in 2017.

Exciting stuff! I also have some personal projects underway and they are keeping me plenty busy. I am wrapping up the first draft of my work in progress hopefully this weekend, so after a small hiatus from that, I will be in full-on editing mode. I am also preparing to launch a third podcast this holiday season, something totally different from either of my existing shows and I hope to be able to share that with all of you.

Whew! Busy times here. Downtime is overrated, no? Hang on to your hats, folks, and I hope you’ll keep following along with everything going on around these parts. In the meantime, the school supply sales are calling!

Happy project season,

Kris

