I know I say this all the time, but I can’t tell you how much fun it has been getting to know Marina. I hope I don’t embarrass her when I say that early in our email exchange about this story she mentioned that she was credited in Tina Fey’s “Bossypants,” which totally made me have a fangirl moment. She is a humorous writer who is presenting for us on NEW a serious story which she is going to read herself, and I can’t tell you how much I am looking forward to it. Thanks, Marina!

Marina holds an M.F.A. in Creative Writing from Northwestern University. She was recently named the Grand Prize Winner of the Royal Nonesuch National Humor Prize (for work much lighter than this). Her fiction has also appeared in The James Franco Review and on the shortlist for Matrix Magazine’s Lit POP Award (judged by George Saunders). She is currently working on her first short story collection & channeling her inner-tween in “The Super Secret Diary of Karlee Starr” at www.karleestarr.com.

Happy listening,

Kris