I just took a glance at my calendar, and the majority of episodes coming up in the next several weeks are like this week’s in that they have three contributors. This, naturally, caused me to run some numbers because I am a nerd like that and I learned that while the vast majority of episodes aired so far have 2 contributors or fewer, more than half of the episodes scheduled between now and the end of March have 3. Without thinking about it, I have started a trend.

Friends tell me that having three kids is a delicate balancing act. I wouldn’t know, because three kids are definitely not part of my plan, but the way I understand it the third one tips the balance a little bit, makes everything go wonky and unbalanced, but in a good way. Providing a necessary challenge to a family.

It’s a challenge to get 3 stories to play nicely together. 2 usually have a symbiotic relationship. 4 times in the past we’ve attempted 4, which is its own kind of challenge, but those are necessarily short shorts to fit in the timeframe which somehow makes it a little easier. 3 gives enough time for some longer form storytelling while creating a delicate balancing act.

This week’s episode is titled “Spin With It.” As in, despite what happens in this world it keeps spinning and we have no choice but to go with it. It is not designed to be entirely comfortable, and these stories don’t always sit comfortably together, but in a good way. Necessary challenge and all that.

I’m delighted to share with you the bio of talented playwright and show contributor Evan Guilford-Blake and I do hope you’ll tune in this week. I don’t think you’ll regret it.

Evan Guilford-Blake writes plays, prose and poetry for adults and children. His published work includes 30 plays as well as the comic mystery novel “Noir(ish),” the short story collection “American Blues” and the novel “Animation.” His middle-grade novel “The Bluebird Prince” was released in late fall 2015, and the collection “Love and Loss and Love” (which includes this week’s contribution “Balloon”) is due out January 28, 2016 by Verto Publishing. More information is at http://www.amazon.com/Evan-Guilford-Blake/e/B009CC554I/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1404742234&sr=1-2-ent. He and his wife (and inspiration) Roxanna live in the Atlanta area.

Happy listening,

Kris